Fête de la musique

D + 133

The spirit of “La Fête”

 
Fête de la musique

When, in October 1981, Maurice Fleuret became Director of Music and Dance at Jack Lang’s request, he applies his reflections to the musical practice and its evolution: « the music everywhere and the concert nowhere« . When he discovered, in a 1982 study on the cultural habits of the French, that five million people, one child out of two, played a musical instrument, he began to dream of a way to bring people out on the streets.

And thus, in a few weeks’ time, the Fête de la Musique was launched on June 21, 1982, the day of summer solstice, a pagan night which recalls the ancient tradition of Saint John’s feasts.

Given the immediate success of this popular and largely spontaneous event, this gathering of professionals and amateurs musicians, with its new focus on all kinds of music, was the incarnation of a policy striving to give an equal place to amateur musicians, to rock, jazz, singing and traditional music, all of which were given a chance to be heard alongside so-called « serious » music.

The free concerts, the SACEM’s support, the media’s help, support from territorial municipalities, and participation of an ever increasing share of the population…made it one of the major French cultural events, in only a few years.

It began to be « exported » in 1985 (the European Year of Music). In fifteen years, the Fête de la Musique would be taken up in over one hundred countries throughout the five continents.

Though the European dimension remains the most visible one, now that Berlin, Budapest, Barcelona, Istanbul, Liverpool, Luxemburg, Rome, Naples, Prague and the French Community of Belgium, Santa Maria da Feira have signed the « Charter of the partners of the European Festival of Music », the Fête has also taken root in San Francisco, in New York this year, in Manila, and has practically become the national feast in many African countries, not to mention Brazil and Colombia.

Concert

Tough its success is most obvious in big cities’ hearts, many other dimensions lie behind : it visits prisons, shares the lives of hospital patients and personnel, brings together educational establishments and music schools, creates links between cities and suburbs, brings a fresh breeze to rural communities, highlights the months of efforts of an individual, a group, an association, or even an entire community. While avoiding formality, the Fête de la Musique naturally promotes democratisation of the access to artistic and cultural endeavours.An international success, a social phenomenon (a postage stamp is devoted to it in 1998), the Festival is also a showcase for new musical trends which it sometimes introduces, but always expresses : a renewal of traditional music, an explosion of world music, the development of choirs, the appearance of rap, techno, the revival of musical carnivals…

Bresil 2005

The success of the Fête is, more than anything else, due to the efforts of the many networks which are brought into play before June 21st. These can be institutional, like Operas houses, national and regional Orchestras, Chamber music ensembles, Conservatories, Music schools… or professional, like the Scènes de Musiques Actuelles (SMAC) and the Cafés Musique or the Antennes du Printemps de Bourges.

On this occasion, the major amateur federations ensure the involvement of all of their members throughout France, whether in the French Musical Confederation for Fanfares and Harmonies, or the A Coeur Joie for the choirs. Social and cultural institutions, as well as local associations, help to bring out the new musical expression. The vitality of the Fête also depends on the energy of the many volunteers who individually do their best to make sure this exceptional day is rich in spontaneity and in its expression of youthful abandon.

In a generation, the Festival displays its constant capacity to reinvent itself. Ingenious and vivacious, built on institutions yet choosing – like music itself – to live its life in the streets, the Festival is carried along by the people who bring it to life.

Fête de la musique

J + 73

Esprit de la fête

 
Fête de la musique

La Fête de la Musique a été créée en 1982 par le ministère de la Culture.

Quand Maurice Fleuret devient Directeur de la Musique et de la Danse en octobre 1981, à la demande de Jack Lang, il applique ses réflexions sur la pratique musicale et son évolution : "la musique partout et le concert nulle part". Découvrant en 1982, à l’occasion d’une étude sur les pratiques culturelles des français, que cinq millions de personnes dont un jeune sur deux, jouent d’un instrument de musique, il se prend à rêver de faire descendre les gens dans la rue.

Et c’est ainsi, en quelques semaines, que Jack Lang, ministre de la culture, décide de lancer la première Fête de la Musique, le 21 juin 1982, jour du solstice d’été, nuit païenne se référant à l’ancienne tradition des fêtes de la Saint-Jean.

« Faites de la musique, Fête de la Musique », la formule devenue mot d’ordre n’avait rien du slogan. Cette mobilisation des musiciens professionnels et amateurs, cette attention nouvelle portée à tous les genres musicaux, devenaient ainsi, à travers la réussite immédiate d’une manifestation populaire et largement spontanée, la traduction d’une politique qui entendait accorder leur place aux pratiques amateur ainsi qu’au rock, au jazz, à la chanson et aux musiques traditionnelles, aux côtés des musiques dites sérieuses ou savantes.

La gratuité des concerts, le soutien de la SACEM, le relais des médias, l’appui des collectivités territoriales et l’adhésion de plus en plus large de la population, allaient en faire, en quelques années, une des grandes manifestations culturelles françaises.

Elle commence à  "s’exporter" en 1985, à l’occasion de l’Année européenne de la Musique. En moins de quinze ans, la Fête de la Musique sera reprise dans plus de cent pays, sur les cinq continents.

Concert

Succès international, phénomène de société (un timbre poste lui est consacré en 1998), la Fête est aussi porteuse des nouvelles tendances musicales, que souvent elle annonce, que toujours elle traduit: renouveau des musiques traditionnelles, explosion des musiques du monde, développement des chorales, apparition du rap, de la techno, retour au carnaval musical... Sa réussite visible en centre-ville occulte bien d’autres dimensions : elle entre dans les prisons, partage la vie des malades et du personnel à l’hôpital, rapproche les établissements scolaires et les écoles de musique, établit des liens et des échanges entre la ville et la banlieue, irrigue les communes rurales, valorise le travail de plusieurs mois ou de toute une année d’un individu, d’un groupe, d’une association ou de toute une communauté. Sans être jamais instrumentalisée, la Fête de la Musique favorise ainsi naturellement la démocratisation de l’accès aux pratiques artistiques et culturelles.

Bresil 2005

La réussite de la Fête est d’abord celle des multiples réseaux qui s’activent en prévision du 21 juin. Ils peuvent être institutionnels, comme les Théâtres Lyriques, les Orchestres nationaux et régionaux, les Ensembles de musique de chambre, les Conservatoires, les Ecoles de musique…, professionnels comme les Scènes de Musiques Actuelles (SMAC) et Cafés Musique ou les Antennes du Printemps de Bourges.

A cette occasion, les grandes fédérations amateurs mobilisent leurs relais dans toute la France qu’il s’agisse de la Confédération Musicale de France pour les Fanfares, les Harmonies et la pratique amateur en général ou de A Coeur Joie pour les Chorales. Les équipements sociaux et culturels, les associations locales aident à révéler les nouvelles expressions musicales. La vitalité de la Fête compte aussi avec les énergies de tous les  » volontaires  » qui se mobilisent individuellement pour apporter à cette journée exceptionnelle sa part fondamentale de spontanéité, son allure de transgression joyeuse.

En l’espace d’une génération, la Fête manifeste ainsi sa capacité permanente à se réinventer, ingénieuse et vivace, issue de l’institution, mais ayant choisi – comme la chanson – de vivre sa vie dans la rue.